Home / About Us / Board of Directors

The Alston Wilkes Society is governed by a Board of Directors of 18 members from across the Carolinas. Board members are elected for a three-year term and can be re-elected for one additional three year term after which they must rotate off of the board for at least one year before serving again, unless they are serving an unexpired term, in which case they can still serve two full three year terms.

Our Board Officers

Jimmie Williamson

Board President

President of LTC Health Solutions University

Rev. Stephen Taylor

Board Vice President

Senior Pastor, Union United Methodist Church

Vicki McCartha

Board Secretary

Retired, Special Education Teacher & Administrator

Ken Makins

Board Treasurer

Auditor, Selective Insurance Co.

Our Board Members

Will Batson

Board Member

Chief Development Officer, Diversified Development Inc.

Dr. Julia Boyd

Board Member

Retired, District 2 Education Administrator

Dickie Brunson

Board Member

Retired, Chief US Probation Officer

Clay Catoe

Board Member

Director of Lancaster County EMS

Andrew Cole, Esq.

Board Member

Collins and Lacy, P.C.

Chris Cowan

Board Member

Chief of Police, Cayce Police Department

Jay Dowd, PhD

Board Member

CEO, The Citadel Foundation

Frances Finney

Board Member

Retired Educator, USC

Jeffrey Jones

Board Member

Deputy Adjutant General of SC

Mitch Lucas

Board Member

Retired, Assistant Sheriff, Charleston County

Past Board Presidents

Bob Jeter*

Rev. Claude McIntosh*

Rhett Jackson

Paul Bendt

Dr. Harris Parker*

Betty McKellar*

Ellis MacDougall*

J.W. Witherspoon*

Allan Shurr*

Dr. Joanne Fraser

Rallie Seigler

Rev. Dr. David Donges

Mark Taylor, Esq.

Claude Huguley*

John Bourne

Maurice Halloway

Nancy Godbold

Dr. Sylvia Clark

Robert Barber

Bill McDonald

The Honorable Mary Clark

Rev. Dr. Fred Andrea

Rev. Dr. James Adams

W.H. Nicholson, III, Esq.


Rev. Eli Alston Wilkes*

First Executive Director

Parker Evatt

* Indicates this person is now deceased